top of page


Lisa Roy received her B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in chemistry from the University of Calcutta, India in 2007 and 2009 respectively. Thereafter, she joined the group of Prof. Ankan Paul at the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, where she obtained her Ph.D degree in 2015. The topic of her doctoral thesis was “theoretical investigation of reaction mechanisms related to renewable energy”. Subsequently, she worked as a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Prof. Frank Neese, under the guidance of Dr. Shengfa Ye, at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Germany, mainly focusing on the elucidation of the reaction mechanism of carbon-dioxide reduction by transition-metal complexes. She received the Department of Science and Technology, India, Inspire Faculty Award in 2017 and worked as an independent scientist at CSIR Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute from 2017-18. Presently, she is working as an Assistant Professor at Institute of Chemical Technology - IOC Bhubaneswar campus. Her current research interests include reactivity  of Metalloenzymes and model complexes, organocatalysts and surface chemistry in order to computationally design novel catalytic systems for sustainable energy and resources.

Professional Experience

Since November 2018 - Present

Institute of Chemical Technology Mumbai - 

IOC Odisha Campus Bhubaneswar 

Assistant Professor 


CSIR Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, Durgapur

DST Inspire Faculty Fellow 


2015 - 2017

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany

Postdoctoral Researcher, 

Research Group: Prof. Frank Neese

Group Leader: Prof. Shengfa Ye

Educational Qualification

2010 - 2015

Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata

Ph.D (Science) in Chemistry (Physical)

Research Group: Prof. Ankan Paul

2007 - 2009

University of Calcutta

M.Sc in Chemistry

Project Supervisor: Prof. Pinaki Chaudhury

2004 - 2007

Vivekananda College, University of Calcutta

B.Sc (Honours) in Chemistry

Awards and Honours

  • CSIR ASPIRE Extramural Research Grant, 2024

  • Certificate of Excellent Grade in Performance Review Meeting by DST INSPIRE (2023)

  • Early Career Advisory Board Member of ChemPhysChem (Wiley VcH), since January 2023 - present

  • SERB POWER (Promoting Opportunities for Women in Exploratory Research) Grant, 2021

  • Early Career Advisory Board Member of ChemPlusChem (Wiley VcH), since January 2021 - present

  • Visiting researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Germany (July 2019)

  • Selected for DST INSPIRE Faculty Fellowship (2017) in Chemical Sciences Division

  • Offered Postdoctoral Fellowship at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (2017) (not availed) 

  • Max-Planck Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2015 

  • International Travel Support from SERB in 2012 for participating at the 48th STC held at KIT in Germany

  • Qualified the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering in 2010

  • Qualified the Joint CSIR-UGC National Eligibility Test 2009, CSIR fellowship JRF/SRF from July 2010 – June 2015

  • Qualified State Eligibility Test (2009) held by West Bengal College Service Commission for Lectureship

  • Awarded Motilal Nath Award (2007) by Vivekananda College for excellence in B.Sc examination.

Academic Activities

  • Reviewer for: Nature Catalysis, Nature Communications, Angewandte Chemie, ACS Catalysis, Chemical Science, Chemical Engineering Journal, Catalysis Science and Technology, Organic Letters, Chemistry European Journal, Biomacromolecules etc.

  • Editorial Advisory Board: ChemPlusChem, ChemPhysChem

  • Guest Editor and Initiator: Special Collection on Computational Chemistry to Study Organo-Catalytic Reaction Mechanisms by ChemPlusChem

Administrative Activities

  • Present: Girls' Hostel Warden; Chair, Women Cell. 

  • Previously: Member of Purchase, Library, Admission and Examination Committees.​


Research Grants

  • Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, ASPIRE Grant

  • Science and Engineering Research Board, POWER Grant

  • Department of Science and Technology, INSPIRE Research Grant

  • Start Up Research Grant, ICT - IOCB

bottom of page